Felted Earrings

So here I am waiting for my sewing pattern to arrive and needing to be creative. I have experimented with wet felting but I can’t say I’m thrilled with my results but I have found a way to re-use them! oh joy…I can’t stand wasting all that effort.
I usually put my work up on a pin board above the area where my computer is situated, so that I can be treated to a visual feast and analyse to death what I have been up to for the last who knows how long!
This piece of wet felting had been there a LONG time and I had tried to make it into a book cover, a felted pouch or just a picture but never came up with the right look. So I cut it up and took out the parts that I enjoyed and cut out the pieces I hated!…..I can’t imagine what took me so long, now I have various pairs of earrings in the making.
Basically I start with the piece of wet felting and then embellish with all kinds of trims and beads etc. I really like to use my small bits of silk ribbon ( again… no waste) and glass beads, I use more wool, yarns and embroidery threads. A lot depends on how the creative mood takes me as to what goes into the project. I back each piece with a complimentary colour of felt and apply the stainless steel hook.
If you would like to see the pictures of these earrings please check out my flickr link to the right of this article.

About woolbrain

I love the area where we live. We have the ocean and the rainforest. I enjoy creating with yarns, fabrics, buttons and beads. I also like to keep learning new skills and share with others.

Posted on 26/02/2010, in felting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you please keep popping back..you never know what I’ll be up to next!

Leave a Reply

The Procrastinator Dyer's Diary

A Journal of Observations

rosiepink

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

The Creative's Tribulations

From the perspective of a frustrated creative.

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

lil fish studios

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

Attic24

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

FeltUnited

Uniting the world wide felt community

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

dyefeltsool

documenting the process

tremblinginsidethecocoon

Just another WordPress.com site

The Procrastinator Dyer's Diary

A Journal of Observations

rosiepink

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

The Creative's Tribulations

From the perspective of a frustrated creative.

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

lil fish studios

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

Attic24

Adventures with Felting, Dyeing, Knitting and other stuff

FeltUnited

Uniting the world wide felt community

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

dyefeltsool

documenting the process

tremblinginsidethecocoon

Just another WordPress.com site

